Painting Is My Life…(Kitchen Progress)

Or at least that’s the way it seems most days. If the best way to get to know your new house is to paint every square inch of it, then I now know the kitchen VERY well. I decided to paint the cabinet frame and drawers while we had all of the cabinet doors off. While that was drying, I set up a paint station for the doors and got a coat of paint on them. While those were drying I painted the walls of the kitchen…..so. much. paint. But it’s all looking so much cleaner and brighter in here already.

As you can see, we went with gray. Our decision was based mostly on the new tile we picked out that will be replacing the carpet in here. (More on that later!) Sorry this picture stinks, I will have better after pics soon. I didn’t bother painting the interior of the cabinets…yet. Some day I may get around to it, but for now they are in really great shape and really just needed a good wipe down. I also really couldn’t wait any longer to start putting things away in the cabinets. It was such a pain to try to search for kitchen essentials that were still packed away in totes.

photo 4Painting the doors while they were flat was so much easier than trying to do it while they were attached.  The paint we chose had a primer built-in, but I still ended up doing three coats to get good coverage over everything. The grooves with the wood filler really soaked up the paint quickly. We also went ahead and replaced the hinges with some nice brushed nickel ones.

photo 5-002Here’s a close-up of the doors before and after. No more groove thang! Not too bad for a super cheap makeover, right?! We would really like to add some nice brushed nickel drawer pulls and knobs for the doors too. I think it will give it a much more finished look.

My Photo (2)

photo 2-013

photo 1-012I used the same gray on the walls here as we had throughout our old house. We had quite a bit left over from the other house and I hate to waste paint. It’s called Grayish by Sherwin Williams and it’s the perfect shade of gray.  It’s kind of a beige-y gray and it just goes well with everything. I tested a corner of the kitchen with primer to see if it really made a difference in covering up the dark brown walls…it didn’t make a difference. I had to use two coats over the walls regardless with or without primer so I didn’t bother using it on the rest of the walls.

photo 1-003

photo 2-003I just love how much cleaner and brighter it feels in here already. We still have a lot to do in here and I’m still figuring out where things are going to go. It seems like the cabinets are in constant flux while we live here and figure out where we really need things to be.

160

Here is a peek at my ongoing to-do list for the kitchen:

  • fill in the cabinet groove/sand
  • paint cabinets
  • paint walls
  • paint trim
  • change hardware
  • add drawer pulls and door knobs
  • replace carpet
  • new light fixture
  • add open shelving
  • replace backsplash

This list is constantly changing…like daily. Every time I look in here, I think of something to add or change. I know that some of these things will be done soon and some won’t be done for months or even years, but it’s still nice to have a reference to keep us on track. It’s also really nice to see things crossed off my list!

4 thoughts on “Painting Is My Life…(Kitchen Progress)

  1. How exciting! We just moved into our new home too and I started writing about it and trying to capture these special DIY moments and WOW- I never realized how much work went into home renos until recently! I applaud you!!! 🙂

    Like

    • Congrats to you!! Being a homeowner is no joke, there is always projects to do…but I love it! I can’t wait to see how your concrete countertops work out, I would love to try it some day. I love blogging/photographing it so you can look back and remember how far things have come!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

