Time To Lighten Up the Wood Paneling

Normally I love to paint. It’s such a cheap, fast way to makeover a room or piece of furniture. I love cracking open a can of paint, especially a new color I haven’t used before. I can usually knock out a room in a day or two with no problem. There’s not a room that my paintbrush and I couldn’t tackle.

Until I started painting the living room…in all of its wood-paneled glory.

photo 3-006photo 2-005I feel like this room has taken forever to paint. Because it has. I actually started painting this room as soon as we moved in. (a few months ago) I couldn’t wait to paint over the paneling and I knew exactly what paint color I was going to use.  I’ve painted paneling before so I wasn’t too worried. I got one wall done and then, I don’t know what happened, I lost my mojo…my painting mojo (it’s a thing).

Fortunately, Hollis’ baptism is next weekend and I will have a house full of people. Nothing lights a fire under my bum like the pressure of having people see my house and judge me. I’m fairly certain my house would never get dusted without the fear of someone randomly stopping by or having to take photos for this here blog. Don’t get me wrong, the room is nowhere near finished, but at least we no longer have one half painted wall and three wood-paneled walls. (Although I do still  have a half painted brick wall. Sigh.)

Here’s how it went down. Slowly. Here’s how it slowly went down. I think I maybe averaged 1/2  a wall per week.

I had to cut in around the ceiling, trim, and then I had to use a small brush to get into all those grooves in the paneling. I hate those grooves. I may have used some choice words while filling in those grooves.

IMG_0335We painted the trim in the newer part of the house, but we are leaving the original woodwork in the older part. I’ve never had dark wood trim, I’ve always had white, so choosing paint colors is a whole new adventure now. I taped off around the floor boards, but I just cut-in with a small brush around windows and doors.

IMG_0332One bad thing about paneling is, that it hides all the nail holes and imperfections in it with the busy wood grain pattern. I had a heckuva time seeing all the holes  that nails left behind until after I got a coat of paint on it. So I had to do all my wood filling after my paint dried, which didn’t speed things up any.

IMG_0331It’s also really obvious if you forget to paint a groove, or don’t fill one in all the way….this was also a time-sucker.

IMG_0334I eventually got in a rhythm and got all my cutting in done, then filled my grooves, then rolled on two coats to finish it off. The whole process shouldn’t have taken so long. I blame myself mostly. I get easily distracted, especially in the living room where the baby’s playing and the t.v. is on. That darn Pioneer Woman makes me want to stop whatever I’m doing and get in the kitchen and make something. So really this all her fault if you think about it.

Anyway, things are looking much lighter and happier in here. I like the way the pale blue looks with all of our dark brown furniture. Even that futon, which is not a permanent inhabitant of this room. He’s just visiting until we find something else.

IMG_0527IMG_0529IMG_0533Here is a close-up of the curtains. I love them. I love them so much I’d marry them if I wasn’t already married.

IMG_0545Now that the little one is officially crawling, we are in full baby proofing mode. That’s why our coffee table is against the wall like it’s being punished. And we have the wall mount for the t.v. ready to go, I just need the hubby’s help getting it hung up there. You can also see I’ve started to prime the brick wall, I’m sure it will take another month or so for me to get that done too.

IMG_0530I still have a couple of seams where the panels but up against each other that need to be filled with more than just paint. You can see what I mean in this photo below. That pesky seam on the left corner is practically screaming at me. Overall, I feel like the light blue really contrasts with the dark brown and shows off the great detail on the wood trim. Details that seemed lost next to the busy wood grain on the paneling.

IMG_0532Here’s my checklist for this room:

  • paint walls
  • wipe down/clean trim
  • hang curtains
  • hang artwork/decor
  • hang t.v.
  • add floating shelves to the t.v. wall
  • prime/paint brick
  • find window covering for door
  • replace futon
  • organize toys
  • replace carpet (some day)
  • fill panel seams
  • new furniture (this one’s a long way down the road and I mostly just put it on here to see if the hubby’s reading)
6 thoughts on “Time To Lighten Up the Wood Paneling

Leave a Reply

