Baby Stuff We Loved So Much We're Using It Again

Since I’m about to have this baby, and I’m not really able to do many projects, I thought I’d do a little post of my favorite baby things that we really, really used the first time around and that we plan to use again with baby number two. There is so much baby stuff out there these days, and we found some of it unnecessary. I’m focusing this list on mainly newborn baby needs. It’s funny to see all the lists of what you need for baby on different sites, because every baby is so different, they like different things and respond to things so differently. So this list is what worked for us for baby number one. It will be interesting to see if baby number two likes these same things too.

baby stuff

  1. Boppy Nursing Pillow. I was advised to bring this with me to the hospital when baby was born….I did not listen. I didn’t think I would really need/want it there. I thought it would just be one more thing to haul with us, but I will be bringing it this time for sure. I didn’t consider just how tired and weak I would be after a c-section, and this pillow would have made supporting baby while nursing so much easier. Other than feeding, we used this as a baby lounger. I loved that I could put it in the middle of our bed, or on the floor and Hollis could be propped up enough to look around and play with her toys or drink a bottle.
  2. Wearable blanket/swaddle. We were given one of these at the hospital and we loved it immediately. Hollis wasn’t crazy about being swaddled with a blanket unless it was nice and tight, but she loved this thing and it was really easy to adjust for tightness. I felt safe with her sleeping in it and I liked not having to worry if she kicked off her blanket and was cold.
  3. Two-piece outfits. These little seperates were so handy for us. In case you didn’t know, babies spit up and poop….a lot. Our baby rarely did both at the same time, so I loved being able to swap out just her top or bottom and not having to completely undress her. It also made it really easy to peek inside her diaper and change her while she was asleep. I would suggest buying several of these in similar colors so you can easily mix and match them.
  4. Boon Lawn Drying Rack. I know a drying rack is a drying rack. But I liked this one because it was cute and if it’s going to be out on your counter all the time, then it might as well be cute right? We still use this daily. We used it for bottles, toys, teething rings and these days we use it for sippy cups, tupperware, and little plates and bowls.
  5. Pack ‘N Play. We registered for this because we wanted it for traveling mostly. Once we got it, we decided to use it in our bedroom instead of moving the crib in there or using a traditional bassinet. Once we moved to this house, which is a two-story, we set it up on the first floor as a diaper changing station and place for baby to nap. That is what we are doing with it this time around too. It was so nice to have a place to change a diaper without having to take baby upstairs, especially when it was an emergency blowout. When Hollis was older, we removed the bassinet and changing table and she used it as a playpen or napped in it when we were downstairs.
  6. Rock ‘N Play. This is one of the things I did not register for, but got at my baby shower. It is one of the most used things from when Hollis was a baby. I love how lightweight and portable it is. This went with us anytime we traveled, because it was so compact, easy to set up and Hollis loved sleeping in it. I could move her into the kitchen while I cooked dinner, or take her to whatever room I was in easily. When we first brought her home from the hospital, she slept in this right next to my bed which made getting up with her at night and nursing a lot easier.
  7. Bumbo Seat. This one isn’t for newborns, but more for three months or when baby can hold their head up well on their own. Hollis loved this thing. She was a very alert baby and was much happier when she was propped up where she could check everything out. I loved it because I could set her in whatever room I was in and do chores or projects and she could sit there and play or eat and watch me and whatever I was doing.
  8. K’tan Wrap. There are tons of great wraps on the market right now, this is just the one I used. I admit, I found it a little intimidating at first, but once I got the hang of it I really loved it. There were days when I would not have gotten anything done without this thing. I loved being able to snuggle with my baby while getting things done around the house like laundry, or vacuuming, or making myself some lunch. I also liked it when I was getting groceries because I hated that her car seat took up so much room in the cart….and strangers couldn’t come up and touch her or breathe all over her.

Do you have any baby items that you just could NOT live without? Or loved so much you would use with baby number two?

4 thoughts on “Baby Stuff We Loved So Much We're Using It Again

Leave a Reply

